Featured · Fitness · Lifestyle

#FIT2014

January’s over, and we’re halfway through February.  How many of you have kept up your New Year’s Resolutions?

Well the most popular New Year’s Resolution for the year of 2014 (and probably every other year before that), according to www.statisticbrain.com is yes, lose weight.  Yet the amount of people that are actually successful in achieving their weight-related resolutions is less than 50%.  Although I’m not big on making New Year’s Resolutions, I definitely try to maintain health and weight goals I’ve set for myself.  And today I want to share with you info about one app that has kept me on the right track this year.

NIKE+ RUNNING

Let me just say, this app is FANTASTIC!!!!!  Of all of the workout apps I have tried over the past few years, this one is my favorite.  Nike+ Running, according to nikeplus.nike.com, can nike-running-app-2“Map your runs, track your progress, and get the motivation you need to keep going. The Nike+ Running app tracks distance, pace, time and calories burned with GPS, giving you audio feedback as you run. Automatically upload to nikeplus.com to see your runs, including your route, elevation and NikeFuel.”  I’ve found this app to be extremely helpful for a number of reasons, and I’ve outlined some of the ways it’s inspired me below.

1.  MOTIVATION TO RUN: I often struggle with wanting to run, and if you have the same problem, this app definitely helps.  It helps to see how far you’ve come and to match your progress with when you’ve started.  When I first started using the app, I finished a mile in a little over 14 minutes.  Today, my best mile is 10:19.  Having a time to beat really  aids in setting goals and accomplishing them.   Additionally, if you connect this app to Facebook, you can receive cheers during your run and every time you workout, or accomplish a new goal.

2. CREATES COMMUNITY–RACE AGAINST YOUR FRIENDS:  You should really compete with yourself first and foremost when it comes to fitness, but it also doesn’t hurt to have a little bit of friendly competition.   With Nike+ Running you can run with your friends, and track your progress.  My boyfriend and I have a friendly competition going and this week I’m in the lead!! (LOL) But I digress.  🙂 The point is, no matter where they are in the world, you can track the progress of your friends and family with this app, and motivate each other.

nike-running-app

3. SET GOALS……AND ACHIEVE THEM!!!!  Nike+ Running has a segment of the app where you can set challenges and the app will help you reach them.  It’s almost like having a personal training right with you.  I’m hoping to run a 5k in March, and Nike+ Running is forcing me to work harder every time I run.

Ultimately, this app has helped me accomplish a lot so far, even though the year has just begun.  I have found it to be extremely motivating, and I hope you do too.  Find a partner and get started on the road to #fitness2014!!!!

What keeps you motivated? What fitness goals/traditions have you started this year?  Comment and let me know!! Also feel free to share any apps that help keep you motivated as well.  Happy workouts!!

-AB

Leave a Reply

