ALANAYA · Lifestyle

Turnup Tuesday Motivation: On Being A Unicorn in a World Full of Ponies

  
I used to be so afraid of being different. Different was unknown, it was weird, you couldn’t put your finger on it, and it couldn’t be put in a box. Standing out meant that people were looking at you, making summations about your person, and possibly drawing conclusions about your actions. 

However, in my short attempt to follow what I thought was the crowd, I realized how unhappy stifling my inner self made me. It was even more uncomfortable than standing up in a room and knowing I  looked different or acted different than those around me. 

And so I stopped. And I’ve never looked back.

  
There is so much liberty in knowing, and loving who you are. Accepting that I like bright colors, and don’t like the rain, and would rather be hanging out with a few close friends than enveloped in a sea of people. 

Commercial Break: Being different doesn’t mean it’s ok to be negative, rude, or what many would euphemize as “brutally honest.” That’s just being negative, rude, and rude. Always keep it classy. 

Being different means being ok with one’s self, and not being afraid of standing out, starting a conversation, or being exceptional. 

And that’s why I created ALANAYA BROWN. Read more about that here

  
Today I challenge you to share your true self with the world. In not doing so you rob your environment of what you were specifically and wonderfully created to be. And if that “you” needs work, then so be it. Work on it. But in the meantime, be you. Be authentic. Be unique. Be a unicorn in a world full of ponies. 

Happy Tuesday. 🤗

-AB

“I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Marvelous are your works, And that my soul knows very well.” -Psalms 139:14

Leave a Reply

