ALANAYA · Lifestyle · Today's News

Life, Love, and the Pursuit of Business

  
Sometimes I feel like I never sit down.

Between work, studying, business, and more business, it’s easy to get caught up in the whirlwind of doing everything without actually experiencing everything.

When I started my business last year, I was excited. Excited beyond all reason that I had finally “sewn” together all of the abstract and creative ideas I’ve had in my head for years. My dura mater’s electrical messengers finally made it down to the axons in the soma and the dendrites, and released new chemical messengers to a specific group of neurons, forming new pathways (I told you I’ve been studying 😆).  I’ve created a number of pieces I’m proud of, and the business is thriving.

Which is great, by the way.

However, I didn’t anticipate how starting a business would change the way I look at the world.

Entrepreneurship can be very liberating. Being your own boss means you get to make the rules. Who doesn’t want to make their own rules? 

  
It can also be quite restricting. Because you make the rules, you are the boss. And if you are the boss, you maintain over-arching responsibility for the business and its success. That often means late nights and early mornings, limited sleep, working while everyone else is relaxing, and just being plain exhausted. 

But, what makes it all worth it is the look of excitement on a customer’s face after they’ve seen a tailor-made garment or a sought-after handbag come to life. And sometimes, I’m just as awed as they are. I still look at my pieces and say “Wow. I made that with my own ten digits.”

  
Why am I telling you this? Because I’m learning that any successful business, or life endeavor requires balance. Work hard, hustle, and grind, but don’t forget to relax. Literally stop and smell a flower (unless you have allergies of course). Take some time for yourself, even if it’s just 10 minutes. 

 
 Why? Because all work and no play STILL makes a very dull, stressed, and unhappy human.

Be happy! And be well. Have a great weekend, everyone. 😆 

-AB 

“Come to Me, all who are weary, and I will give you rest.” ~ Matthew 11:28

Leave a Reply

