ALANAYA · Featured · OOTD · Today's News

The Importance of Being Positive

I’m a hopeless optimist.

 

Within the past few weeks, I’ve seen our country, and the world at large engulfed in hurt, misunderstanding, unnecessary manslaughter, and hatred. Individuals who were once close friends, have turned on one another on the basis of temporary opinion, and many people are living in fear for their very lives.

Yet and still, somewhere deep inside of me a little spring of positivity lives. I used to attempt to submerge it, and despise that even when I felt the most discouraged, I would still say things to myself like, “well at least I’m still alive,” or “it could be worse,” always attaching some realm of happiness to dismal situations.


Let me clarify. That doesn’t mean I run through endless fields of daisies with Debussy’s Claire De Lune playing in slow motion in the background all the time.

What I DO mean is that through various situations, despite my intermittent inclinations to feel negative, depressed, or hopeless (because I do feel that way at times), I naturally search for positive anecdotes and inspirations that serve as small pieces of the bridge I build back to the land of positivity.

And through years of reinforcement, these pieces became a part of my natural response to negative circumstances, and have preserved my sanity numerous times.

Now, this may not be your natural inclination. But positivity is an action and a concept that can be implemented through practice. I am a firm believer that your ability to learn only ends when you die, or when you refuse to absorb information. Having said that, here are my top three ways to stay positive in almost any situation:

1. Establish your faith. No matter who you are, because I believe we are created beings, we desire a sense of belonging and ability to put faith in something, or someone. My major faith source is belief in God and the Bible. For some others it may be family, friends, or some sense of belonging. Find positive things that are most important to you and invest your time and energy into them in a positive way. 2. Give back. Helping others always puts my world in perspective. It allows for the knowledge that there are other people in the world who are worse off, and opens the floodgates for understanding and communication between people from different walks of life. In addition, the fulfillment from helping others provides purpose and belonging.

3. Recite positive narrative. Out of the abundance of the heart, the mouth speaks. So even if you don’t necessarily believe it in your heart as of yet, if you want to be a successful businessperson, designer, singer, etc., you’ve got to start telling yourself you can. You are your own worst critic, and no one beats us down better than ourselves. Commit to saying at least one positive thing about yourself (and someone else) every day, and I guarantee you something will change. I won’t promise your circumstances will always be grand, but your attitude about them will.

And that’s it folks. It’s not that simple, but it actually is. It starts with you, and the every moment everyday decisions you make. Speak positively about yourself and others! Even when it doesn’t feel great. Happy Monday!

-AB
OOTD deets:

Shirt – H&M

Skirt – ALANAYA

Shoes – BCBG

Clutch – ALANAYA

Sunnies – H&M

One thought on “The Importance of Being Positive

  1. THIS IS GREAT BABE!!!!

    On Mon, Jul 18, 2016 at 3:06 PM, INTO THE AUGUST RED wrote:

    > Into The August Red posted: “I’m a hopeless optimist. Within the past few > weeks, I’ve seen our country, and the world at large engulfed in hurt, > misunderstanding, unnecessary manslaughter, and hatred. Individuals who > were once close friends, have turned on one another on the” >

Leave a Reply

